If you’ve been wondering Is Oat Flour Gluten Free? I’ve got you covered! You can learn all about this gluten-free baking staple below, plus some of the best ways to use it.
Is Oat Flour Gluten Free?
Yes, oat flour is gluten-free! Oats in their natural state are gluten-free, and it follows that oat flour is gluten-free too. However – and there’s often a “however” when it comes to gluten-free – if you are celiac or very sensitive to gluten, you’ll want to purchase oat flour that is labeled as being gluten-free or “certified gluten-free” to be on the absolute safe side.
The reason for purchasing certified gluten-free oats or oat flour is that cross-contamination (meaning that the oats could have come in contact with gluten-containing products) is always a possibility during the manufacturing process. So check the labels on your package of oats or oat flour before you buy it.
What Is Oat Flour?
Oat flour is flour that’s been made from ground oats. It is a whole grain, naturally gluten-free flour that has a slight sweetness when it’s used in baked goods (another reason I love it!). It’s packed with protein, fiber, calcium, manganese, selenium, phosphorous, and magnesium, making it a healthy choice for all-purpose flour.
You can buy oat flour easily in stores or online, or you can make your own. I use oat flour a lot in my baking so I usually buy pre-made oat flour in 5-pound bags so I have it readily available. It performs beautifully in baked goods and equally as well in waffles and pancakes.
How to Use Oat Flour
As with all gluten-free baking, using a scale to measure your flours will ensure the most accuracy! On my site, I give both cup and weight measurements for gluten-free recipes, though I’ve carefully tested my recipes by weighing out the flour first and then translating it into cups to make life a bit easier.
Oat flour works so well in baking recipes and it’s my go-to flour for cakes, cookies, brownies, and more. You can experiment with using oat flour in combination with another flour, like almond flour, or even try it as a 1:1 substitute for all-purpose flour if you follow weight measurements for this swap (don’t substitute cup-for-cup though, because the weights of all-purpose flour and oat flour are different).
Oat flour likes a binder, such as eggs, to give it structure. I have many recipes on my blog that call for oat flour, and I’ve included a list lower down of some of my favorite ways to use oat flour to get you started.
Oat flour, like most gluten-free flours, benefits from a rest so that it can absorb some of the liquid in the batter before you cook or bake it. This will help your final product turn out fluffier, lighter, and more delicious!
How to Make Oat Flour
If you can’t find oat flour or want to make it yourself, it’s economical and simple to do so! Here are two super easy ways to make oat flour at home:
- In a food processor: Place the oats in a food processor and pulse them a few times, then process the oats at normal speed until the oats turn into a fine powder. Stop the food processor when they are finely ground.
- In a high-speed blender: Place the oats in a high-speed blender. pitcher and secure the lid. Blend the oats until they break down into a fine powder but before clumps form.
How to Store Oat Flour
If you make your own oat flour, it will keep in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 months, or in the freezer for up to 6 months. You can also store your purchased oat flour in the packaging it came in and follow the manufacturer’s recommendations for how and how long to keep it.
Where to Buy Oat Flour
Many major grocery stores, including Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s, stock oat flour (my small grocery store in my small town does as well, so it’s not a real specialty item anymore). You can also purchase oat flour online (see what brands of oat flour are gluten-free in the next section). Or, you can make your own oat flour as noted above.
What Brands of Oat Flour Are Gluten Free?
Here are some brands of oat flour that are certified gluten-free:
- Bob’s Red Mill
- Arrowhead Mills
- Thrive Market
Can Celiacs Eat Oat Flour?
If you have Celiac Disease you can eat oats and oat flour because they don’t contain gluten. However, some who have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease also are sensitive to oats, which contain a protein called Avenin. Unfortunately, this may cause a reaction similar to when you eat gluten if you’re very sensitive. If you find you’re sensitive to oats, you’ll have to avoid oat flour.
Recipes That Use Oat Flour
I love baking with oat flour because it results in tender baked goods that you can hardly tell are gluten-free! Here are a few of my favorite things to make with oat flour: